Spring Fever

27 Mar

Oh, spring time. You bring so much joy to my life! Rising temperatures, blooming flowers, birds chirping, outdoor adventures and everything in between make springtime the best season. However, flowers blooming, green grass growing and nature restoring has brought on a world of sickness for this immune deficient girl.  Recently, I found out I have chronic tonsillitis, which means I have some sort of viral infection or strep throat way too often. It also means that I have to have a tonsillectomy at the very beginning of summer. Basically, for the past three years I have not been 100% well. Springtime is when my chronic tonsillitis flares up the most due to the amount of airborne allergies this time of year. So what I love most, frolicking outdoors on beautiful days, is literally giving me “spring fever.”

You’re probably thinking, “get over yourself,” and you’re right. That’s where I am going with this. As I sit here, sick and feeling sorry for myself, I realize there is so much to be thankful for.  I may be sickly more than normal, but at least I can still sit on my back porch and enjoy these beautiful days. I think about everyone stuck in a hospital or going through chemo that cannot enjoy days like these and I feel truly blessed.  This little set back in my life is nothing compared to what others are going through.  Everyone, including myself, needs to take a step back and realize how fortunate we are on a daily basis.

 

Moral of the story: Quit feeling sorry for yourself and count your blessings.   

Leave a Reply

