90’s Kid

20 Mar

I don’t care what anyone says, the 90s had the best toys, the best shows and the best movies. Maybe I am a little biased, but I would rather play with Gak over an Xbox any day. Last week I blogged about missing my childhood, so this week I thought I would make a list of the things that only 90s kids would truly appreciate.

Rugrats

What’s better than a show about a red-headed freak, an evil toddler, a set of twins and Tommy Pickles? Nothing. I so desperately wanted to be one of those characters, particularly Angelica. She was that intimidating bully everyone hates, so naturally I wanted to be her.

Polly Pockets 

These choking hazards kept me busy for hours. You think a kid today would sit down and play with tiny pieces of plastic? Probably not. I remember wanting to shrink myself down and play in all of Polly Pocket’s houses. That Polly had the sweetest set ups.

Furby 

This is literally the scariest toy every created. Just look at those bug eyes. Oh and not to mention its creepy little voice. “Me hungry,” “Me no like.” No wonder our generation has such bad grammar. My Furby is still alive. Not too long ago it opened its terrifying little eyes and let out a long Furby-language sigh. Talk about nightmares for weeks.

Beanie Babies

Getting a new Beanie Baby was the highlight of my childhood life. I collected Beanie Babies thinking one day I would sell them for a surplus of money. Where are they now? In a plastic tub in my attic. Even though they did not make the fortune I was hoping, they still brought so much joy to my little six-year-old self. I always wanted the tie-dye bear, Garcia, but it was $100. Who in their right minds would spend $100 on a bear full of beans? Now that I think about it, the money my parents  spent on my Beanie Babies could have probably funded my college.

Skip It

Think of how many kids face planted playing with this toy, me being one of them. I was never coordinated enough to master this toy, but I could hula hoop like champ.

The Lion King

Where do I even begin? This is just an ultimate classic. I still watch this movie on occasion and bawl my eyes out. When I was little I was all about Lion King. I still remember my favorite pair of sandals. They were white and pink with Nala’s face on them. I had at least 10 Lion King shirts, a backpack and countless Lion King coloring books. Listening to “The Circle of Life” tugs at my heart strings. If you are a 90s kid, you understand when I say that Lion King is the best movie of all time.

Barney

Barney was such an influential character in my life. I grew up on Barney. I made everyone call me “Michael” or “Fat Tina” because they were my favorite kids on the show. My brother, who is 12 years older than me, was forced to watch Barney with me every single day. What a nice big brother. I love you, you love me we’re a happy family with a great big hug and a kiss from you to me, won’t you say you love me tooooo. That will be stuck in my head for the rest of my life now. Although, I could continue this list for days and days, I will part with a few other 90s classics: The Macarena, Lisa Frank, Tamagotchi, Jock Jams, The Powerrangers, Hey Arnold, Ren and Stimpy, The Backstreet Boys, Goose Bumps and of course, Bill Clinton.

Leave a Reply

