Childhood

13 Mar

I genuinely miss being a child. Life was so simple and pure. The only worries in life were remembering to feed your tamagotchi and having more Beanie Babies than your friends. When did life get so complicated? Now life is bogged down by life decisions, never having enough money and always having too much work.   All I wanted to do was grow up, and now I would give anything to be a child for just one day.

I miss the days when the scariest aspects of my life were “Are You Afraid of the Dark” and “Goosebumps.” I miss when the worst thing that could happen was being sent to my room. I miss the days of playing red rover, red rover send so-and-so over. I miss running wild at recess in my light-up sneakers. I miss when Britney Spears was a role model. I miss the days when the Backstreet Boys melted my heart.  I miss Rugrats, Doug, All That, Rocko’s Modern Life, CatDog, and Hey Arnold.  Most of all, I miss not having a care in the world.

The kids in today’s society do not know real childhood. Now that technology has taken over, kids don’t know the simplicity of being a child. Instead of playing outside until dark, kids sit inside all day playing X-Box. It saddens me. My childhood was about collecting Beanie Babies, playing kickball with the neighborhood kids, playing every sport I could and using my imagination. That is what saddens me the most.  Children do not know how to use their imaginations. We entertained ourselves by making forts out of sheets, playing baseball in the backyard and making up dances to Britney Spears songs. I colored and made books almost everyday when I was a kid, and now today’s entertainment is playing video games and watching T.V.

Being young and naïve is one of life’s greatest moments.  Living simply and care-free is such a short part of life, and I am so lucky to have had such a wonderful childhood.

I’d do anything to go back to this time and be that little care-free weirdo for one more day. 

Leave a Reply

