The End of a Blogging Era

4 Nov

Last blog, so bittersweet. Although blogging was not nearly as bad as I assumed it would be, I am not sad that we won’t be blogging anymore. I have never blogged before this class, and I discovered that I like it for the most part. The one thing I disliked about the blogging assignment is that we had to pick a central theme, rather than being able to blog about random things. I understand that the majority of successful blogs have a central theme, but as the semester went on, I decided I didn’t like writing an advice column. What I do like about blogging, just in general, is that I can write out my thoughts and say what is on my mind, which can be very therapeutic at times. I also discovered from this assignment that I actually do enjoy reading other peoples blogs. Before this I thought they were slightly annoying. This was because I had only read some of my friend’s blogs, but now that I have read real blogs, I find them useful and entertaining. I love looking at the photography and recipes on the Pioneer Woman’s blog. In fact, that lady will be the sole reason for my excessive weight gain. There are just so many good recipes!! Although learning  new recipes is my most favorite part about blogs, I did actually learn some very useful techniques in writing blogs. For example, I now know the aspects of a good blog from this assignment. I learned that a blog needs good grammar and design, it must be updated often, it needs a distinct voice, and it needs to give insight.

As of right now, I do not see myself blogging freely on my own anytime soon.  I think one day when I have more free time I will. Maybe I’ll be the next Pioneer Woman? Except I can’t cook…or take cool pictures…but hey who knows, maybe one day I will get a cool hobby and will share it with the blogging world!

One Response to “The End of a Blogging Era”

  1. senatorallen November 7, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    I’m glad to hear your thoughts. I think overall it was a good experience for most of the class, if for no other reason than to understand the ins and outs of an additional social media (if you want to consider it that, which I do) and what it’s like to come up with consistent topics, which journalism, advertising and PR professionals have to do routinely with beats and clients. I enjoyed getting to hear your “voice”!

Leave a Reply

